Pilling Windmill (also known as 'The Old Mill' and 'Damside Mill') was constructed in 1808 by Fylde millright, Ralph Slater, who also built Marsh Mill in Thornton-Cleveleys and the Clifton Windmill near Preston. It was built on a reed bed and has a lower course of sandstone surmounted by bricks. At its base the mill is 30 feet in diameter, tapering to 18 feet at the curb. The mill was converted to steam power in 1886 and the sails were removed the year after. It continued to operate until 1926, after which it fell into disrepair. By 1975, however, the mill had been renovated for residential use and is still a private residence today. On 2nd February 2007, the mill was fitted with a traditional "Lancashire boat top" cap by the owners Nick and Catherine Edwards. The cap was designed to match Marsh Mill at Thorton Cleveleys and was built by Neil Medcalfe - a traditional millwright from Lincolnshire. The placing of the cap, which drew large crowds from the village and local television crews, restored the windmill to its rightful place as the tallest in the Fylde. In 2008, the restoration of the mill was continued with the fitting of a traditional balcony around the outside, reinstating a view of the mill that had not been seen for over 100 years. Today, Pilling Windmill remains an important feature on the local landscape and, standing at over 73 feet, offers unique views towards the Lake District and the Pennines.
To read a more detailed history of Pilling Windmill click here.
The Old Mill, Taylor's Lane, Pilling, Preston, Lancashire, PR3 6AB.